When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

Solitude on ice

10 Comments

A relationship ends without even starting. What does it mean? Why does it make me sad?

A built wall surrounds my heart. It doesn’t hurt, it doesn’t ache. A suitable protection in this empty hour. Why build a wall knowing it’ll fail?

Start anew. A stranger moves closer, yet feels further. Like a shower under a solitude-infused dry rain. Where’s the water?

Dry-ice dissolves into fog

–a winter wall fades away

under a whispered spell.

_____Adriana Citlali
IV-II-MMXIX


Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts, visual art, and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

10 thoughts on “Solitude on ice

  1. Interesting take on solitude – the ending of a relationship.

  2. I like the title, Adriana, and your perspective on solitude, with a built wall as ‘suitable protection in this empty hour’. I especially like the simile ‘like a shower under a solitude-infused dry rain’ – and the stunning haiku.

  3. I am loving how different all these posts are – each of us having a unique perspective. It’s been many years since I’ve wondered when love will come into my life, and your haibun has transported me back to that ‘in between’ place.

  4. Nice to see you again Adriana… I love the way you describe the end of a relationship that never really began… the image of a wall between the heart is saddening…. but at least if you live in a fortress there will be no bloodshed.

  5. Your paired dry rain and dry ice are beautiful.

Leave a comment