When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

In the still…

18 Comments

Raised    as a fire-ignited vision
I reach the still of tonight
             far  up there
right above oblivion
I see you   kissing my lips

Freed from hefty gravity
 I look down    at our confusion
             far  up there
right besides stillness
I see us   turning around


_____Adriana Citlali
XXIV-IV-MMXVII

Quadrille #31 –today’s word: still | dVerse.
(A quadrille is a 44-word poem.)


Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts, visual art, and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

18 thoughts on “In the still…

  1. Stillness seems to be a position where we can look at our confusion better which is like being able to levitate above it all.

  2. An interesting perspective…sometimes good to consider a relationship in silent stillness. The turning around seems hopeful!

  3. I like how your poetry manages to keep me wanting more. I have to read it again and again. I don’t know if the end is good or bad. If they turn like in a dance or if they turn and leave each other. The end to me is open to the reader’s interpretation.

  4. This is beautiful, Adriana. So glad to see you at dVerse.

  5. I think that stillness is our reality or at least a part of it. Love the photo that accompanies the poem too.

  6. Loved this dusky gem–for me it resonates with meditative OBE, where our spiritual self can survey the scene. Love certainly can be a vehicle for such perspective.

  7. The title takes me right to that scene in Dirty Dancing, “In the still / of the night …”

  8. The dreamy feel of the sequence has you floating up there looking down on your bodies, kind of existential

  9. To be beside stillness and witness…a unique perspective ~ I feel the motion in the end ~

    Good to have you linking up, smiles ~

  10. Oooh I absolutely adore this!! Sigh….. so dreamy!!❤️

  11. I like this point of view, being able to watch stillness. Lovely poem.

  12. The motion and the stillness works so well together… it’s like a dance.

  13. I like the idea of the vision in stillness–and seeing the movement.

Leave a comment