When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

I know you left

28 Comments

I had a nightmare last night.
I wanted to be a straight line but kept bending
     into runaway curves
that circle themselves before moving afar.

 ©2015 Adriana Citlali Ramírez

©2015 Adriana Citlali Ramírez

I know you are leaving.
Did I turn my eyes too fast?
Was I too abstract? –I wonder.
                    Good bye my dear …

I will not sleep tonight.
We do not need each other.
I’m a dash of colour in your dual world;
          lost in the carpet of black
          that covers your light.

I struggle to see your brightness these days.
Though I remember the sparkle
you showed when you held my hand
and touched my lips.
     Will you kiss me again
          with that confused confidence you did then?

   A deadline was reached.
You will walk that straight line.
I will follow my irregular spiral.

We do not need each other.
               Will I kiss you again?

Good bye my stranger…


_____Adriana Citlali
IX-VI-MMXV

Written for

Poetics: Black and White | dVerse.

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

28 thoughts on “I know you left

  1. Love that “confused confidence,” especially. The questions here gnaw deep. Well done.

  2. Painful how people can become complete strangers, how the pathes that were once so close and even entertwined can seem so far away. How too the way we see them changes, that brightness that was once there now gone. All too real.

  3. At first sad, then enlightening, people too often grow apart. Maybe we just expect more out of our lives than our grandparents did. My wife & I just celebrated our 21st year together, & this is the third marriage for both of us; go figure.

  4. As Glenn says, it started out sad. But for me, it ended sad, too. To become strangers with one we love is tragic. I like the photo you included with it. It seemed to fit. Nice weaving of the black and white prompt into this. Peace, Linda

  5. How sad on the ending ~ I specially like this part:

    A deadline was reached.
    You will walk that straight line.
    I will follow my irregular spiral.

    Thanks for linking up with D’verse ~

  6. There is sadness in the end of a relationship. I think what once was colorfully bright can (at the end) become kind of monochromatic, and we wonder if the color was once real or not. It is sad to realize it is over, that the one once loved is now a stranger, but still it seems human nature to wonder about kissing him again….perhaps just one more time.

  7. To each his own. Life is such one decides! Even relationships are not all binding and there comes a point of reckoning! Great lines Adriana!

    Hank

  8. How can a girl so beautiful as you are could have experienced these feelings? I met you last week and was captivated by your smile. Now I am captivated by the depth of your words.

  9. I wanted to be a straight line but kept bending into runaway curves … that’s the line that got me!

  10. Sometimes this is something that could not have been predicted. People do drift apart, sometimes nobody is right or wrong. It just happens. I like how you used the imagery of the line on top of the black and white one.

  11. I like the way you use black and white and color along with lines and curves as metaphors for the contrast in a relationship that seems untenable. And I very much enjoyed what you did with this prompt.

  12. Your opening is awesome!

    “I had a nightmare last night.
    I wanted to be a straight line but kept bending
    into runaway curves
    that circle themselves before moving afar.”

  13. Strong emotions in this. Well done.

  14. so tough when those that once loved become strangers and cannot find a common path anymore… i know how painful that feels

  15. It is sad when love grows cold or leaves. Such a sad poem. But the weaving of white, black and colors is excellent in this. Good bye my stranger….very emotional read.

  16. To use the absence of color as joy lost is so well done as is the connection to dreams and night. The way you end each stanza is a song in itself to that last line where lover turned stranger.

  17. At core love is connection and the purest love is the deepest connection. When we have connected we remain connected through love forever, whether the person is there or not. Just because something is absent does not mean it does not exist. I think love is eternal.

  18. you are a most passionate scientist… as I read this, I thought of how gravity can bend light – and how people gravitate toward one another.. another very fine poem.

  19. This feels like several different poems to me, linked thematically, The first stanza can stand alone (I love it, by the way). The 2nd and 3rd could also be standalones and then the others all fitting together into another poem. Makes it more enigmatic, perhaps (dare I say opaque?) but I rather like that brevity and flash of a single image, like a camera flash going off in a dark room.

  20. Love is a muscle of light that grows bright or dims..
    Taken for granted it wastes thin.. in tiny
    streams of light.. in darkest oceans
    blue.. where emerald sands
    of life once show through..
    So frequent people
    visit muscle
    gyms of life..
    meat markets..
    instead of meeting
    emotions of heArts
    School Lighting Love..
    No one tells me about
    HeArt.. Soul.. and Spirit
    School.. funny how cogs
    of humans in machines
    become more important
    than life of connecting
    spirit of human
    alive.. sad..
    ALAS
    Light
    Lives
    with
    human eYES
    in loving
    ways
    of
    Love
    School now..:)

  21. So many questions when love is lost. ….and I think the line that really struck me the most was “We do not need each other”. You don’t hear that every day.
    Really enjoyed this.

  22. Sadly, the one you love today may not be the one you will love tomorrow. We are all subject to change, I’m afraid. But you have written a beautiful & sincere piece despite the bittersweet undertone. Thank you for the poem, I have enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

