When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

Death and jazz

12 Comments

I think of you and wonder ’bout    
death and cycles    
dawns or sunsets    
   nightmares    
doors    
bliss    

It’s all mixed up    
blended into amorphous impressions    

Unseen thoughts
                  right here
Old jazz inside my head

Music fused with closure
maybe also melancholy
or serenity

Is it freedom or tragedy
across the boundary?

I think ’bout me and wonder
dawns or sunsets

Is it only jazz inside my head?


_____Adriana Citlali
XXXI-X-MMXV

This jazzy poem got inspired by a recent trip to New Orleans and Björn’s words at dVerse Pub’s Open Link Night #159.

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts, visual art, and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

12 thoughts on “Death and jazz

  1. I think poetry
    is a great
    way to
    release
    the jazz
    in minds..
    Lord knows
    if word count
    is any indication
    my music is now
    one big head or
    13.6 online
    bibles.. hehe..
    therapy of
    words
    grow
    flow
    Live for Now..:)

  2. I think of a lot of things when I music inspires me ~ Hopefully there is closure with the thoughts in your head ~

    Good of you to join us for OLN ~ Have a good weekend ~

  3. The feelings that arise through listening to music (jazz) can co-mingle with our everyday feelings, which can lead us to think…was it old jazz, or maybe just life… Nice one, made me think.
    Gayle ~

  4. I think there is music inside that sometimes resonate with what we hear.. That’s what is the best kind of music…

  5. Don’t you find that jazz reflects your own spirits? When you’re melancholy it’s all ‘waa-waa’ saxophone whine. When you’re joyous it’s be-bop skip and jump. And when you’re confuse, it can get all jangly and messy, like some freestyle jazz. Hope you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans – I dream of going there some day.

  6. I think music serves us well…often triggers old memories, changes our moods, helps us to write. I think we can most often be thankful for that jazz in our heads. Smiles.

  7. Listening to jazz is so liberating and does, as your poem captures, inspire free association–many times leading to some pretty provocative thoughts and emotions, as you’ve shown here.

  8. Death and jazz – such a great pairing. Both so complex and vaired…and somewhat mysterious. Is it ending or beginning? Dawn or sunset? This is really well done, Adriana. Your final lines are perfect:

    Is it freedom or tragedy
    across the boundary?

    I think ’bout me and wonder
    dawns or sunsets

    Is it only jazz inside my head?

Leave a comment