When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

Perplexity all over

16 Comments

Amelia runs through the labyrinth inside the secret room 1101 behind her eyelids, where memories are allowed, desires are contained, possibilities forbidden.
Perplexity all over.

The threat:
            Three bewildered cats danced around Amelia

The range:
            Close encounter within a confined space

The place:
            Not here, not there –not anymore

The match:
            Forbidden realm

The cost:
            Repression


_____Adriana Citlali
XXVI-II-MMXVI
IX-V-MMXVI

“But the beauty is in the walking — we are betrayed by destinations.”
― Gwyn Thomas

It is Haibun Monday #13 at dVerse, and the theme is walking.
Strictly speaking, this is not a haibun. It’s structure has been inspired by that of haibuns.

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

16 thoughts on “Perplexity all over

  1. This raises all kinds of question, Adriana–just who is Amelia and what, exactly is room 1101 all about. I wonder if this could be written to fit the haibun form.

    • Amelia is a recurring character in my poetry. I’ve wrote plenty about her. She gets to experience all kinds of events that never happened to me and some that did. Room 1101 is related to room 101 from Orwell’s 1984.

      As for the structure, yes, maybe it can be turned into a haibun, but I do not edit my poems after I publish them. I guess I will have to write a real haibun soon. 🙂

  2. I think this could easily be written to the haibun form. I love the dancing cats.

  3. Indeed, it is perplexity all over.
    To me it reads as an affair or a forbidden passion that can be remembered but not spoeken about.

  4. Ah.. not quite a haibun.. but it’s a walking for sure…Your Amalia Persona is of course someone I know. The possibilities forbidden are so chilling… I sincerely hope it’s just a dream…

  5. I never thought of giving that secret room a number or a name…very creative

  6. This reads like being lost in the nightmare ~ Chilling read ~

  7. ‘possibilities forbidden’ sends down some chill…

  8. This has its dark side and I love the layout and the threat!

  9. Clever to create a character that appears throughout your poetry….a bit “novelistic!”
    You definitely should try the haibun style — I think your Amelia would quite enjoy the experience.
    Hope to see you at the bar this afternoon — I’ll be tending and would love to have you and Amelia join us again.

  10. I like the diminishing nature of this, the way it funnels down into itself.

  11. This leaves me wanting more….perhaps a sequel haibun. Amelia sounds like a very intriguing character.

  12. Most intriguing.

Leave a Reply

