When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

Fear is a darkened rose

14 Comments

Fear is a rose with black mask.
Fear is what makes us move.
It is the next step we ought to take.
the uncertainty of turning left or right.
I fear me, I, all and nothing.

Then I walk. I take the road… I step out.
I fall, I run, I dance, I jump.

Fear is the fuel that motivates the one
who thinks challenges are exhilarating
escapades, possibilites, non-sense.

Uncover the rose with me.
Challenge your limits.
Jump those barriers.
Dance with me.


_____Adriana Citlali
XVIII-XII-MMXV

This poem was inspired by Grace’s verse “Darkness was just a rose with black mask“, in everyday amazing: Nightscape. This poem is a free verse first attempt. No editing whatsoever… Free to be Free – Meet the Bar | dVerse.

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts, visual art, and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

14 thoughts on “Fear is a darkened rose

  1. Oh I love this 😀

    Jump those barriers.
    Dance with me.

    Yes indeed!! 😀 😀

  2. I love the unexpected insight to turning around the darkenss and ending line specially:

    Uncover the rose with me.
    Challenge your limits.
    Jump those barriers.
    Dance with me.

    Thank you for being inspired by my line ~ Wishing you Happy Holidays and best regards ~

  3. A delightful close, as Zorba asked his boss after everything went wrong, “Did you say dance, boss?”, finding the joy midst the chaos.

  4. Yes, let’s do jump those barriers. Freeing verse rather than just free verse. Letting go of the darkness….I like that.

  5. I like how you push through that fear and end up dancing. And I like how Grace’s line inspired your writing. So nice when that happens.
    Gayle ~

  6. Yes this works… Turn up the volume high and dance to open up the darkness.., the first line really hooked me. 😉

  7. Not dancing, but walking, freely. That’s me. Well done!

  8. There is a lot to be said about skipping the editing process because it seems so fresh and alive when we just let the words flow–your words prove that. And, yes, it’s good to let it rest and then edit.

  9. I read this as an enticing invitation to be free! Beautiful!

  10. “Embrace your fear.” One of my favorite thoughts when stepping out of the proverbial box.

  11. This is a very inviting piece of work. Nice, Adriana.

  12. And yes.. there is science
    to dance as well as art..
    as a free verse
    dance of
    life frees
    positive
    emotions
    integrates
    senses.. increases
    focus.. short term
    working memory
    now of cognitive
    executive functioning
    dance with no rules
    of science but
    science
    that is
    art
    as free
    no where to
    go but move
    as ART.. and
    fear falls
    far
    far
    behind
    until it disappears
    in a cloud of star dust
    and we become
    danCinG LOVE
    Stars
    of the day
    and night
    of dArk coming
    AS new liGht JuST
    now.. Awakening
    Force of Dance FREE1!..:)

Leave a comment