When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

Then you blinked

28 Comments

Usually you have that diamond brightness on your left eye. Often I have the mystery that makes you uneasy. Or is it the other way around?

Occasionally, fog surrounds us, removing all except for that mysterious diamond. Then you blink. Then I doubt. Or we kiss and forget. Just… We don’t really forget; we wait.

But that November night, you became the person who scares me. The sparkle turned wicked –or so I thought.

Today I told you all –but you can’t know. Today I was the girl who shares her world in a silent conversation. I wonder if I hurt you.

Winter, under dark
northern sky –I walk alone.
No sun, no rainbow.


_____Adriana Citlali
XXIII-I-MMXVII

Haibun Monday #29 | dVerse

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts, visual art, and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

28 thoughts on “Then you blinked

  1. Adrianita: ¡Esa actitud es cruel! Tan fácil que es quererte, y tú que no te dejas.

  2. I like the suble change in emotions and circumstance ~ The silence is heavy and the walking alone is omnimous and sad.

    Hope you are well. Thanks for joining us.

  3. sad to be alone… unless one is writing

  4. I liked these sentences: “Or we kiss and forget. Just… We don’t really forget; we wait.”

  5. I’m an introvert. I can relate to this so closely. I often have long discussions with someone, without really having em. But I feel so much better because, at least in my head I said all I had to say.
    Expressing feelings is always a struggle. But a long silence is also expression, when one is but an introvert.

  6. This is so sad, especially the haiku.

    My favorite part is how you turned the piece here: “But that November night, you became the person who scares me.”

  7. Today I was the girl who shares her world in a silent conversation. I wonder if I hurt you…. nicely written, the emotion stands out and the haiku reflects it perfectly.

  8. It is truly the bounce back from our falls that propel us to move forward, Adriana. Even if only in our private thoughts! Well written.

  9. There is so much within your words Adriana…very thought provoking haibun..

  10. The emotion that I sense is just beneath the skin… and we are left, interpreters of silence. So hard to talk.. I do love the haiku.

  11. Yes, it only takes a blink, and the gap between says a lot. My favourite sentences: ‘Occasionally, fog surrounds us, removing all except for that mysterious diamond. Then you blink. Then I doubt.’

  12. The silence can be suffocating….and walking alone can be the most crowded space in the world as thoughts pummel us. A beautiful write.

  13. That diamond glint that turns wicked and then…alone. Most touching write and lovely haiku.

  14. A very moving haibun Adriana, it feels as if you could hear your inner voice in the silence, that voice that is always there to guide you.

  15. This is so layered and mysterious…and then it’s not. It’s life, perhaps for all of us? Beautifui and moving. and a beautiful haiku at the end.

  16. I think if I was with a person who suddenly “scares” me, I’d rather walk alone and wait for the sun to rise again. Sometimes people stay in a relationship past its due date. A beautifully moving piece, Adriana. ❤

Leave a comment