When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

I need to disappear

7 Comments

Photo by IndigoBlue

  Cover my irides from all light   

  Let the people around fade slowly   
                                 –smoke dissipating into peaceful darkness   
  Cover my ears from coherent sounds   
                                 –random noise losing its volume  
  Let me lie down   


      My lightless wings grow gently   
                –serene brush strokes by a faceless painter  
      I open my arms  
            hug the warmth of absence
            of flying without movement
               directionless
               dimension-free
            of dreaming with no light
               oblivious
               unconcerned


      When I need to disappear
                 I melt into a dark-winged angel
                    & fly unaffected by this world


_____Adriana Citlali
XXVIII-I-MMXV

Today I read Debi Swim’s blog. I bumped into Death of a Poet, a poem inspired by the photo from indigoblue posted above and the prompt at Poem Tryouts: Take Wing. The photo is artistic and thought-provoking –I had to write a poem!

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

7 thoughts on “I need to disappear

  1. I love your last stanza… wonderful job to the prompt. Have you posted it at http://margoroby.com/ yet? You should.

  2. LOVE the ebb and flow of emotion through this peice. Makes the reader feel as if they are flying, coasting even! I love your last stanza too!

  3. I’m glad you wrote this. So many wonderful things. My favourite image is the one of the wings growing as you need them.

  4. This is beautiful. I like the dream-like state throughout and especially these lines:

    I open my arms
    hug the warmth of absence
    of flying without movement
    directionless
    dimension-free

  5. Sorry that I had trouble reproducing your spacing, which is also part of why I liked these lines!

Leave a Reply

