When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

Confused reality

17 Comments

Hair!


I heard something   
         –maybe your name   
                        your voice   
                           or smile   

 Fast beats   
Thin air   
     Flushed skin   

I curl my hair with my fingers   
   doubt my disguise   

Do not face the door!   
 Control your anxiety   
Stop  expecting               him        …

             The more you clutter my thoughts
            the less I can    pretend

I tuck a loose strand of hair behind my ear

 Sudden laughs
Quick eyes
   Restless hands

            I look down      sit up straight      smile
            Impatient hands flip my hair:
left                              right        left left                right

 Sharp footsteps
Fuzzy eyesight
   Confused reality

It’s not you!
            I touch my forehead
              …   let my hair down


_____Adriana Citlali
XXVIII-I-MMXV



for excuse me, there’s a hair in my poem! | dVerse

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

17 thoughts on “Confused reality

  1. Too bad it didn’t turn out the way you want it to be ~I like the nervous flipping of hair, left & right ~ I tend to do the same ~

  2. Love how you use hair to describe those feelings of expectation/anxiety/am I okay. You allowed us to share that experience and, I’m sure for most of us, to relive it.

  3. I like how the initial anxiety and nervousness gives way in the end and the protagonist lets her hair down.
    Cheers,

    Mark Butkus

  4. Ah.. that was fantastic as i do not think i have heard the explanation of the inner girl twirling the hair in any greater nuance of emotional expression than this.. all non-verbal expression.. all non-verbal truth in emotion.. that words can lie to.. but not non-verabaly.. in true connection with others.. all so eloquently expressed here in words..:)

    And i suppose many guys still do not fully understand that inner girl.. so you are giving the inner girl secrets away here.. for the females of the species.. ha! ha!.. and smiles to that..:)

  5. I felt the anxiety in your words

  6. so much anticipation in your words…
    desire and anx…hoping it is them
    only to have those homes dashed…
    i wonder how long do you wait?

  7. I’ve dealt with anxiety at a point in my life… so these words are felt immensely

  8. Touching your hair in that state of anxiety and expectations so well described through the hair.

  9. That was brilliantly expressed. You have used hair really well to convey the emotions.

  10. You expressed anxiety so well . Great reflection.

  11. there’s so much in those little gestures that we often do without really thinking too much about them… my hair are quite short now – so kinda restricted with channeling my emotions this way…smiles

  12. … I’ve been there ;P Fantastic reeling out of emotions…

  13. You point out the fact the hair is important to our feeling of dignity, and well so. I came to think of what men do. I, myself, let my fingers backwards through the hair, like a comb, when in distress. I guess that is what men do. 🙂

  14. We definitely release (reveal?) our emotions thru hair play…cool capture!

Leave a Reply

