When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

Colourful freshness: life food

11 Comments

Today at the dVerse | Poets Pub, Abhra asked two interesting questions:
1) Do you feel that your food, in some way or other, defines you?
2) can we use food as metaphor?
Read more at Poetics : Food for thought.

Colourful freshness: life food

I stare at your half emptiness, open the drawer, check the veggies.
Soup? –I ask while I wonder if I should close your door, while I think about the inspiration of the day (leaked coolness equals energy wasted, more entropy, more pollution) —
  Is there any cheese?
Corn tortillas?      Did I finish the olives? Where’s the humus?

How long has it been since I ate red meat?
Shall I go shopping?       Shall I dine out?

I close the door, drink some water. Walk a bit.
    Hmmm! Maybe just a simple salad   and refried beens or soup on the side…
Just salad… or …   Guacamole and salmon!

The door opens:

Creamy avocado greenness,
jalapeño spice, and cilantro balance.
Colourful freshness with a strong hint of lime.
Exploding red tomatoes finely mixed with onion and salt.
Fresh juicy salmon simply touched by wasabi and soya sauce.

My palate tastes:

Mexico finds me in Norway!
Entropy is rearranged in fractal order.
Warmness and heat sparkle vivaciously at contact.
Colourful freshness shines in a northern, November sky!

What a day!


_____Adriana Citlali
XI-XI-MMXIV



¡Feliz cumpleaños Carlos Fuentes!
Happy birthday Kurt Vonnegut!

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

11 thoughts on “Colourful freshness: life food

  1. ¡Feliz cumpleaños, Adri!

  2. ¿Se puede hacer poesía con el estómago lleno?
    Yo creo que sí. Aunque ha sido la pobreza (y el hambre por lo tanto) el motor de los mejores trabajos de muchos poetas, soy un creyente del dicho popular “barriga llena, corazón contento” y de que un corazón contento nos dará poesía de la felicidad, qué es mi preferida (así como la que hoy nos presentas, llena de colorido y sabor mexicano).

    ¡Feliz cumpleaños Adriana!

  3. What they said–no really, your poetics stimulate mind & taste buds, fine prose poem; for the olfactory sense memory, & taste recall theorems are kick started, nice ride, nice take on the prompt.

  4. oh that sounds wonderful… i love the taste of cilantro… and i love that kind of fusion cooking when two countries touch that way

  5. To me I get the sensation that food can be an instant ticket to somewhere else.. (and of course I love the entropy that goes with that) .. Our northern skies are rarely seen though.

  6. A meeting of true minds and tastebuds!

  7. Fusion food is delectable, and the way you have put it across makes it doubly so! Very intelligent piece.

  8. Truly a beautiful experience – I am glad to notice how comfortable you are on writing about food, really impressive.

  9. Yeah, this is good, food and always that attachment to the places it comes from. Nice read.

  10. Oh you made me hungry with this. Your avocado stanza is my favorite of the piece!

  11. This sounds like my day when my husband, the chef, was away for 7 weeks. I think I would go with the soup, though. It’s so cold here right now.

Leave a Reply

