When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

Real women don’t cry

20 Comments

I feel incomplete    
There is an empty space inside my skin    
a void containing all pain    
    intangible
without any light or colour
I want to cry

Be strong  –an echo with mom’s voice
Tears only bring troubles
You shed them too often

I try           I improvise a sarcastic smile
               mocking my own weakness
No more tears!  –I write

Hours pass by        maybe days
a week with disguised sadness
Innocent unshed tears wonder in the dark

I try           I hold my head high
               keep my back straight
Remove those thoughts!  –I require

I breath the next moments
 one     by       one
The air feels still

An ephemeral impulse makes me forget    
commands
instructions
all  echos

I lay down  and  cry …

_____Adriana Citlali
X-IX-MMXIV

Written for today’s prompt at Poetics – Bringing Light to Darkness | dVerse.


Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

20 thoughts on “Real women don’t cry

  1. Tears can be cathartic, I always feel worse when I hold them in.

  2. It helps to cry. It’s nothing to be ashamed of .

  3. The Mayan word for “tumor” means something like “frozen tears.” (Can’t remember exactly) Tears are a healing gift. Well-expressed.

  4. I cry when I am upset, I cry when I am very happy , I cry when I am in pain ~ But that’s me as some people hold back and follow instructions & commands by others ~ I think real men & women do cry when moved by strong emotions ~

  5. Tears are a sign of strength and humility to me… If someone thinks it’s not “real” to cry, then they must be torn up on the inside… I couldn’t imagine holding all that all in.

  6. Crying is healthy and helps me cope…just don’t like it to happen in public.;)

  7. It is amazing tome how closely laughter and tears are. I have laughed until suddenly I felt so sad and cried – crazy emotion. But, tears are cleansing, so cry.

  8. i could not smile.. i could not laugh..i was so weak i could not cry..

    After years the cry comes again..

    And i truly once again..

    what strength is..

    Letting go..

    letting GO..

    letting go..

    The tears flush the darkness finAlly
    away…
    And strength roars back like human once again free!
    Tears are golden joy..in disguise…

  9. Tears can be a bliss… But the reason for them is a curse. The tension before they start falling is so well expressed.

  10. I like the way you’ve used white space around your poem – it enhances the words.

  11. Good explanation of pain and joy; experienced in tears. I say just be yourself, anyway. Well written and your form makes this another compelling read.

  12. Crying does make us stronger, I feel. Darkness overpowers, but we break the cocoon and shine through. Tears always heal, always.

  13. there is a time to cry… my mama said so

  14. I am a bottler…that’s what I like to call myself because I hold everything inside, but at some point the pressure builds and it all has to spill out. a lovely write.

  15. This is beautiful, and the emotions are so real. Thanks for stopping by my blog today.

  16. These are beautiful words. This brings me back to some of my hardest times. And it reminds me I’m not alone. Loved reading this.

Leave a Reply

