When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

It’s our anniversary

8 Comments

Photo by Phyllis Galembo.


It’s our anniversary

I’m all dressed up   
in black and white.  

I’m all dressed up,   
longing to hold you …  
though I know you are far.  

I covered my face.  
Life won’t see soft tears  
sliding down my skin.  
Not today.  

I sit at the table
that witnessed our rituals,
that saves
our special place.

I’m all dressed up.
It is April 17th.
One glass will not be used.

I stare at the emptiness
of the space you left behind.
It is our anniversary!

My face is masked
in black and white.


_____Adriana Citlali
XVII-IV-MMXIV


 

Today at dVerse, we are writing poetry inspired by the fine art portraits by photographer Phyllis Galembo.

portrait photographer, Phyllis Galembo.

via Poetics – The Photography of Phyllis Galembo | dVerse.

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “It’s our anniversary

  1. interesting adriana…almost like a mourning garb….the face covered to keep it to yourself…oy to be apart on an anniversary….or be left behind when they are already on the other side….those anniversaries would be so heavy…

  2. This is so touching, sad even. The loss of a loved one, or the loss of love is so real. Our next door neighbor lost his wife of 60 years last week. I spent some time with him this morning teaching him how to prune her beautiful roses. It was so nostalgic. You’ve echoed that feeling here.

  3. oh… what a heartbreaking write. You created an amazing poem from the photo; the costume and her posture exudes sadness in a way…

  4. So beautiful. So sad. I can`t imagine the heartbreak of losing the one that I love and seeing the places where she should be if she were gone.

  5. Such a heart-breaking sadness eminating from your words. A creative way to look at this photo prompt. Beautifully done.

Leave a Reply

