When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

I remember why

15 Comments

Nonsense to my ears
strange tastes
   weird   moments
and a couple of smiles
marking the very beginning
and the final good-bye

A visit worth ending …

I’m in the middle of this
in the height of the senseless moments
and the zenith of being told (albeit without words)
that is best if I pretend to disappear

I wonder why I am here
how        I manage to forget
       the dynamics of this foreign cold gang

But       do I really forget?
Or do I just pretend I do?

When will this end?

My ignore-them will is at max
Not enough!

Maybe I should add noise
the sound of a gun killing my eagerness to walk out the door
or a bomb with evanescent smoke and vanishing powders

The end is coming
It is a cup of coffee away
                 dark coffee

I need to prepare the smile

             End
                .

_____Adriana Citlali
VIII-IX-MMXIII


<>

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

15 thoughts on “I remember why

  1. dang…this gets pretty intense there in the end as the gun come sout…makes me think of bullying…the questioning of why you are even around is raw to me as it was said to me in my teens by my sister and stung deep to the soul and led in part to my running away….

  2. Hi Brian, thanks for stopping by.
    I had a dark week… Ha! The question you raise is right on spot. I guess sometimes we do/accept things/situations we don’t like for the sake of a greater good or purpose. That doesn’t mean that it is the correct choice.

  3. I’m intrigued by the image of–“pretend to disappear” and “Maybe I should add noise” and then noise you add is a not so genuine smile.

  4. This one was very intense … almost like a riddle what is really happening.. the pretend to disappear… almost sinister… like it to be enigmatic…

  5. oh heck…really tight emotions in there…the hurt can be clearly felt – it’s tough when things like this happen, when someone is told without words yet clearly understood…ugh… really tightly penned adriana

  6. Hi Adriana — this certainly describes well the kinds of frustrations that life can bring our way–I say life, but maybe it is the people in our lives — this sounds like end of the tether kind of talk – very intensely put together. Thanks for joining in. k.

  7. There is so much power and intensity in your truth. I was gripped reading this and felt like I had ring side seats to your emotions. Great writing.

  8. Hi Adriana.

    You impressed me, I definitely feel your feelings!
    You and Kari Bremnes have something In common: Being able to describe feelings by words in a clear but “magic” way – thanks for the poem.

Leave a Reply

