When space is silence…

Words, sounds, and space…

Room 101

10 Comments



What do you hide behind your irides?


I hide butterflies
worms
numbers
a chameleon
and a feather

No, that’s not right
It is eight butterflies
no  worms
ten caterpillars and two serpents
odd numbers plus a prime and an irrational
three fractions
one theorem
a chameleon
and a blue feather

_____Adriana Citlali
XVIII-VI-MMXIII


Written for Open Link Night ~ Week 101 | dVerse –today Tony Maude reminded us of Orwell’s room 101 in 1984 … what’s in your room?

Author: Adriana Citlali Ramírez

A citizen of the world, born in Mexico city... A physicist (working as a geophysicist) and a part-time artist (creative writing, oil/acrylic painting, photography)… All posts and poems ©Adriana Citlali Ramírez. All rights reserved.

10 thoughts on “Room 101

  1. ha. you know i dont think i ever knew irides was the plural of iris…had to look that up…
    you really hide math behind yours? smiles. i might be a bit irrational at times…ha.
    thank goodness for the blue feather. smiles.

  2. I do hide math. I am a theoretical physicist who still works with pen and paper (writing numbers and strange symbols) when she has the chance.
    I am also grateful for the blue feather! Thanks for your nice words.

  3. This surprised me with how much I loved it. I too live in a world of empirical numbers and occasional mystical clouds. Loved the details, senora.

  4. I just love this Adriana. I enjoy those minds who are able to blend math and poetry…or (more to my capabilities) science and poetry. And thank you for the sneak peak into your room 101!

  5. love the poetry of numbers – the inherent beauty in them (to which you have added an extra layer of wonder)

  6. It’s amazing how many poets are scientists or scientifically trained. I wonder why that is …

    Imaginary numbers – now there’s something I could live without, except that I’m led to believe that bridges don’t stay up without them.

    • You are absolutely right. Imaginary numbers have a place in the real world. A lot of our reality can be claimed to depend on them. I like them, combined with real numbers, they form ‘complex’ numbers. Complexity can be interesting 🙂 !

Leave a Reply

